Automotive Parts & Services Association Announces Morris/Rupp and Gayle McCartney Trust Scholarship Winners -
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


Automotive Parts & Services Association Announces Morris/Rupp and Gayle McCartney Trust Scholarship Winners


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA) of Austin, Texas, is pleased to announce the recipients of the Morris/Rupp and Gayle McCartney Trust scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year.


The recipients of the Morris/Rupp Trust scholarships are:

  • Calvin Dell, Pittsburg, Kan. – $1,500
  • Abdallah Ibrahim, Wiggins, Colo. – $1,500
  • Evan Reinert, Versailles, Mo. – $1,500
  • Garrett Rider, Lawson, Mo. – $1,500
  • Trinidad Ariza, Porter, Texas – $1,000
  • Tyler Bagby, Kansas City, Kan. – $1,000
  • Cesar Bernal, Lewisville, Texas – $1,000
  • Jose Castillo, Brownsville, Texas – $1,000
  • Robert Gaines, Moberly, Mo. – $1,000
  • Cody Gudgel, Amherst, Neb. – $1,000
  • Alex Hussmann, Houston, Texas – $1,000
  • Brady Sayers, Canyon, Texas – $1,000

The recipients of the Gayle McCartney Trust scholarships are:

  • Cotton Richard, Colbert, OK-  $1,000
  • Delenara Langston, Bull Shoals, AR -1,000
  • Cody Snyder, Lafe, AR-$500
  • Robert Rogers, Castle Rock, Colo. – $1,500
  • T’kye Hill, Tulsa, OK,- $500
  • Zachary Hook, Sulphur, OK, -$500
  • Darryl Huckabee, Black Rock, AR-$500

“Congratulations to all students selected for the APSA scholarships.  We had many outstanding applicants – so it was very difficult for our committee to make a choice,” said Chuck Udell, chairman of the G.C. Morris/Paul Rupp Educational Trust. “We wish all of our applicants the very best as they soon begin their careers in our wonderful industry.   And, thank you so much to all of those who support the APSA scholarship efforts.”


“The students selected for the APSA scholarship exemplify the outstanding applications received this year through the online application process,” noted Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Committee. “Through the efforts of APSA and other associations, along with the supporters of the GAAS scholarship fund, we are able to assist many students pursuing their dreams of higher education.”

In addition to APSA, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:

  • Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)
  • Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
  • Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
  • Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)
  • California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
  • Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)
  • Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
  • Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)
  • Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)
  • New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
  • Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)

The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:

  • Auto Care Association
  • Automotive Communication Council
  • Breslow Foundation
  • Dayco
  • Gates Corporation
  • Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
  • Leadership Development Network
  • Michael Busch Memorial Fund
  • Mitchell 1
  • Multi Parts Supply
  • National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
  • Polk
  • Standard Motor Products
  • Stant Corporation
  • University of the Aftermarket Foundation
  • Women’s Car Care Council (WB)

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at 301-654-6664, or [email protected].

Click to comment
Tomorrows Technician