Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA) Awards 14 Scholarships for 2010-2011 -

Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA) Awards 14 Scholarships for 2010-2011

Applicants for APSA 2010-2011 scholarships were taken through APSA members and the automotive scholarship Web site,

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC – The Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA) has awarded 14 scholarships for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The G.C. Morris / Paul Rupp Memorial Educational Trust awarded $1,000 scholarships to 11 students:
Jacob Bolin, St. Joseph, MO.
Kaleb Campbell, Perry, MO.
Christina Flores, El Campo, TX
Jacob Gibbs, Sterling, CO
Tyrel Hoffman, Dighton, KS
Dominik Kazmar, Baggs, WY
Dylan Mulford, El Campo, TX
Tyler Patterson, Wichita, KS.
Matiaz Perez, Waco, TX
Rily Urban, Morse, TX
Chandler Williams, Pittsburg, KS

The Gayle McCartney Memorial Educational Trust awarded $800 scholarships to three students:
Derek Matzek, Woodward, OK
Brianna Risinger, Clarksville, AR
Ethan Williams, Glenpool, OK.

Additional funding of $5,000 was received from the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA). The three McCartney recipients were given an additional $667 each and three $1,000 awards were given to Morris/Rupp recipients Christina Flores, Tyrel Hoffman and Dylan Mulford.

Flores, Perez and Williams also received 2010 GAAS University of the Aftermarket Scholarships. Matzek and Hoffman were awarded 2010 GAAS Scholarships, and Kazmar received a 2010 GAAS Gates Scholarship.

Applicants for APSA 2010-2011 scholarships were taken through APSA members and the automotive scholarship Web site,

"The Automotive Parts & Services Association congratulates our 14 scholarship winners and wishes them success in the 2010-2011 school year," said Jim Quinten, President, APSA. "We are pleased to present awards to these well-qualified applicants which we received through the GAAS Web site."

"The recipients APSA selected are representative of the 375 candidates who applied through our online application site this year," said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Selection Committee. "Through the support of APSA and other regional associations, and the generous donations to the GAAS scholarship fund, we are able to assist these students in their pursuit of their future careers."

Along with APSA, collaborative efforts with state associations and other automotive groups include:
Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)
California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)
Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
Ohio Valley Automotive Aftermarket Association (OVAAA)
Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)
Women’s Car Care Council (WB)

Each of these other collaborating groups has their own criteria and selects their own recipients for their scholarships.
The GAAS Scholarship Committee recently announced that it is presenting awards to 86 U.S. students for the 2010-2011 academic year. In its 15-year history, the fund has presented awards to more than 1,500 students.

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions from individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at AAIA, at 301-654-6664, or [email protected]

About the GAAS Scholarship Program
The GAAS program is a joint professional education effort of the of the Alliance of State Automotive Aftermarket Associations (ASAAA), Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), Automotive Industries Association (AIA) of Canada, Automotive Parts Remanufacturers Association (APRA), Automotive Service Association (ASA), Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), Motorist Assurance Program (MAP), Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA), Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA), Tire Industry Association (TIA) and University of the Aftermarket. R. L. Polk & Co. is the corporate sponsor of the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium.

You May Also Like

Standard Motor Products Launches 365 New Numbers

The new release includes parts for import and domestic vehicles with gasoline, hybrid, and electric powertrains.

Standard Motor Products (SMP) has introduced 365 new part numbers in its October new number announcement (NNA). Included in the release is new coverage for more than 107 product categories, and 110 part numbers for 2021 and 2022 model-year vehicles.

SMP says its commitment to providing replacement parts for hybrid and electric vehicles through its Standard and Four Seasons brands is evident in this release. The October NNA added new part numbers for the 2021 Mustang Mach-E, 2017-’11 Nissan Leaf, 2022-’10 Toyota Prius and more. The addition of more than 130 new Sensors, Switches, Actuators and Connectors also expands Standard’s powertrain-neutral coverage.

WIN Launches 2023 Sponsorship Program

WIN says the campaign is vital to its mission to attract, retain and advance women in collision repair industry.

Autoshop Solutions Supports Techforce Champion Campaign

Autoshop Solutions’ customers and friends are receiving a special offer to be come a TechForce Champion.

Women in Auto Care Scholarship Program Makes $1M Milestone

This was another record year for the program, distributing 96 awards worth $300,000 in both cash scholarships and starter tool sets.

Wyotech Works On Drawing Women To The Trades

Three WyoTech students were recipients of the JCF scholarship, which empowers young women to pursue careers in trades.

Other Posts

Bosch Releases 133 Automotive Aftermarket Parts YTD 2022

Bosch says these new products cover more than 34 million vehicles in operation across North America.

Standard Motor Products Grows Ignition Coil Program

Additions to the program include more than 800 coils providing 99% coverage for import and domestic vehicles.

ASE Summer Testing Period Registration Ends Sept. 30

Those service professionals who register will have 90 days to schedule an appointment to take the selected ASE tests.

ALI Expands Safety Manual and Offers New Digital Option

Updated manual includes new information, photos and illustrations in a user-friendly format.