I-CAR Education Foundation Awards More than $70,000 in School Grants -
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


I-CAR Education Foundation Awards More than $70,000 in School Grants

The curriculum grants will go to 23 schools providing I-CAR Live Curriculum and Training


From aftermarketNews Staff & Wire Reports


HOFFMAN ESTATES, Ill. — The I-CAR Education Foundation has awarded curriculum grants to 23 schools providing I-CAR Live Curriculum and training that will assist 10 instructors to attend the I-CAR Instructor Qualification Workshop (IQW).

The curriculum grants, with a retail value of more than $65,000, and training grants, with a value of $4,000, are funded by the Collision Repair Education Campaign, formerly the $100 per Collision Repair Facility per Year Campaign, and general donations made to the Education Foundation.

Chris Evans
, chairman of the I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees said, “This is the first chance that the Education Foundation has had to show the success of our new mission. These grants will make a huge difference in the education of the students attending these schools and the businesses that ultimately employ them.”


The schools receiving curriculum grants include:

1. Arcadia Valley AVTS (Ironton, Mo.)

2. Beck Career Center (Red Bud, Ill.)

3. Brashear High School (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

4. Butler County AVTS (Butler, Pa.)

5. Clearfield County Career & Technology Center (Clearfield, Pa.)

6. Dover High School and Regional Tech Center (Dover, N.H.)

7. Fayette County Area Vocational Technical School (Uniontown, Pa.)

8. Honolulu Community College (Honolulu, Hi.)

9. Hurst-Euless Bedford Technical Education Center (Bedford, Texas)

10. J. Everett Light Career Center (Indianapolis, Ind.)

11. Madison Park Technical-Vocational HS (Boston, Mass.)

12. Miller Career and Technology Center (Katy, Texas)

13. Modesto Junior College (Modesto, Calif.)

14. Montana State University-Great Falls (Great Falls, Mt.)

15. Nashoba Valley Technical High School (Westford, Mass.)

16. New England Institute of Tech (Warwick, R.I.)

17. Omaha Career Center (Omaha, Neb.)

18. Oneonta Job Corps (Oneonta, N.Y.)

19. Ramona High School (Ramona, Calif.)

20. Southeast Career Technical Academy (Las Vegas, N.V.)

21. Sunnyside High School (Tucson, Ariz.)

22. Warren County Voc-Tech (Warren, Pa.)

23. Whitewater Technical Career Center (Connersville, Ind.)

The 23 schools will each receive part of a package of the I-CAR Live Curriculum covering tasks required by the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF). In addition, each school will become a member of the I-CAR Industry Training Alliance within the next year. Once a member of the Industry Training Alliance, the schools can award their students I-CAR credits (points) upon graduation.


The Instructor Qualification Workshop (IQW) grant recipients are:

· Bill Burnette from Regional Career Tech Center (Ypsilanti, Mich.);

· Edward Callico from Blue River Career Program (Shelbyville, Ind.);

· Garry Carr from Maine Vocational Region Tech (Brunswick, Maine);

· Kurt Chrysler from Saginaw Career Complex (Saginaw, Mich.);

· Keith Crocker from Fred P. Hamilton Career Center (Seneca, S.C.);

· John Doty from Central Nine Career Center (Greenwood, Ind.);

· Rod Everson from New Market Skills Center (Tumwater, Wash.);

· Jaron Grayless from Ivy Tech State College (Fort Wayne, Ind.);

· Mike Patten from Grant Career Center (Bethel, Ohio); and

· Rick Starbard from Lynn Vocational Tech School (Lynn, Mass.).

The IQW will help the instructors learn how to teach using the I-CAR Live Curriculum. In addition, completion of the IQW is one of the steps needed to induct the instructor’s school into the Industry Training Alliance.


If you know of a school in your area that you would like to support, please contact the I-CAR Education Foundation at 888.722.3787, Ext. 282. You can also visit our website at www.ed-foundation.org for more information.

Click to comment
Tomorrows Technician