Online Applications Accepted Now for 2015 GAAS Scholarships -

Online Applications Accepted Now for 2015 GAAS Scholarships

 Deadline for 2015 GAAS Scholarship Applications Is March 31, 2015

Applications are now being accepted online for the 2015 Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) scholarships, University of the Aftermarket (UAF) Scholarships, and awards from collaborating organizations. Applications are submitted online at the Scholarship website,

The deadline to apply is Tuesday, March 31, 2015.

The scholarships are available to students in two-year technical college programs and vocational schools and four-year college programs.

To receive a GAAS or UAF scholarship, applicants must be enrolled full-time in a college-level program or an ASE / NATEF (National Automotive Technician Education Foundation) certified automotive, collision, or heavy duty/diesel technical program. Graduate programs and part-time undergraduate programs do not qualify.

The GAAS and UAF scholarships are unique in that technician recipients can receive two financial grants: one while in school to assist with tuition and an equivalent grant awarded to scholarship recipients who graduate from their program and show proof of post-graduation employment as a technician in the automotive aftermarket for at least six months.

By completing a single online application at the Scholarship website, students will be considered for GAAS and UAF scholarships, plus scholarships from a number of industry partners.

In 2014, a total of 289 scholarships were awarded by the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship fund, the University of the Aftermarket Foundation (UAF), and other groups collaborating with the Scholarship website.

Individual scholarships ranged from $250 to $5,000. In its 19-year history, the fund has presented more than $1.8 million in awards to more than 1,800 students.

“We especially thank the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, which funded 137 awards in 2014,” said Pete Kornafel chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Selection Committee. “In 2014, more than 600 qualified students completed scholarship applications at the site. The GAAS scholarship Web site,, is now established as a one-stop shop for students seeking automotive scholarships, as evidenced by the number of students receiving multiple awards from GAAS and its partners.”

GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:

Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)
Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
Automotive Parts and Service Association (APSA)
Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)
California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)
Kentucky/Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)
Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)
Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)
North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation
New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)
The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS and UAF to award scholarships:

Auto Care Association
Automotive Communication Council
Breslow Foundation
Gates Corporation
Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
Michael Busch Memorial Fund
Mitchell 1
Multi Parts Supply
National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
Standard Motor Products
Stant Corporation
University of the Aftermarket Foundation
Women’s Car Care Council (WB)

You May Also Like

ASCEF Awards Scholarships to 28 Aspiring Automotive Students

The board of trustees awarded 34 scholarships to 28 students for a total of $18,000.

The Automotive Service Councils Educational Foundation (ASCEF) announced that the board of trustees awarded 34 scholarships to 28 deserving students for a total of $18,500.

ASCEF scholarships have grown out of a single donation to fully funded scholarships in the name of past ASCCA members, past presidents or individuals whose influence and dedication to the automotive industry warranted recognition for all time.

SMP Releases 156 New Part Numbers in June

This latest release provides new coverage in 61 different product categories.

ASE to Sponsor U.S. Auto Tech National Championship

The qualifying round ends on July 31, 2023.

Advance Foundation Gifts $300K to Broward College

The Advance Auto Parts Foundation’s gift will fund $5,000 scholarships for 10 automotive students over the next two years.

Category Winners Named in TechForce’s Techs Rock Awards

Voting for the grand-prize winner is open through 11:59 p.m. PT on Friday, June 16, 2023.

Other Posts

Tomorrow’s Tech, Continental Seek Outstanding Students

Instructors are encouraged to nominate their hard-working students for Continental’s Student of the Month program.

ASE Education Foundation, Goodguys Host Educational Seminar

Students, instructors and counselors learned about the variety of career paths available in hot rodding and automotive service. 

Standard Motor Products Releases 100+ New Part Numbers

New coverage introduced in 56 product categories, and 29 part numbers for 2022 and 2023 model-year vehicles.

UAF Scholarship Deadline This Friday March 31

Automotive and heavy duty scholarships are available.