School of the Year Contests Narrows to Four Finalists -

School of the Year Contests Narrows to Four Finalists

Videos from the four finalists can be viewed on the Tomorrow's Technician YouTube channel.

The contest judges have announced the four finalists from the 2012 Tomorrow’s Technician School of the Year competition, sponsored by O’Reilly Auto Parts and WIX Filters.

The top schools from each of the regions are: 

Region One:
San Diego Continuing Education in San Diego 

Region Two:
Chipola College in Marianna, Fla.;

Region Three:
Clover Park Technical College in Lakewood, Wash; and

Region Four:
Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport, Pa.

These four schools will vie for the title of School of the Year, as well as prizes and donations from the sponsors of the annual program. The winning school will be announced later in October.

Judges have reviewed binders and/or videos submitted by the Top 25 schools.

The Top 25 schools were named in September.  

The judges, which include staff from Tomorrow’s Technician, WIX Filters and O’Reilly Auto Parts, report that they are close to naming the 2012 winner from the four finalists.  

An article in the November issue of Tomorrow’s Technician will highlight the winning school’s automotive program.

Video submissions from many of the Top 25 Schools, including the four finalists, can be viewed on the Tomorrow’s Technician YouTube channel at:

You May Also Like

Standard Motor Products Introduces 200 New Numbers

The release provides new coverage in 60 distinct product categories and 75 part numbers for 2023 and 2024 model-year vehicles.

Standard Motor Products, Inc. (SMP) announced it released 200 new part numbers in its May new number announcement. This most recent release provides new coverage in 60 distinct product categories and 75 part numbers for 2023 and 2024 model-year vehicles, according to SMP.

As vehicle technology evolves, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) become more complex to keep vehicle occupants safe. New releases include 18 new Park Assist Cameras, adding coverage for more than 9 million import and domestic vehicles, as well as Park Assist Sensors for Ford, Kia and Nissan vehicles. Seven ABS Speed Sensors have been added covering many popular vehicles, including 2019 Chevrolet and GMC 1500 trucks, the 2024-20 Cadillac CT4 and the 2023-19 Nissan Titan XD. Electronic Parking Brake Actuators are new for the 2023-19 RAM 1500 and Ford vehicles like the 2021-20 Escape and 2023-21 Mustang Mach-E. Accelerator Pedal Sensors are newly released for the 2023-22 Hyundai Tucson and 2023 Kia Sportage.

CRP Industries Announces New VP of Finance

Luis Vargas will provide CRP with financial leadership, planning and analysis.

ASE Spring Testing is Underway

Those who register by June 30 will have 90 days to schedule an appointment to take their selected ASE tests.

Advance Auto Parts Celebrates ‘National Road Trip Day’

Advance’s “Check Your Battery, Not Your Bag” campaign offers free gift cards for road trip essentials and curbside services, beginning National Road Trip Day – Friday, May 24.

Lumileds to Sell Lamps/Accessories Business to First Brands

Lumileds’ automotive lamps factories in China, Germany and Poland are included in the acquisition.

Other Posts
Hunter Engineering Releases New Alignment Coverage

The semi-annual specification update includes new and existing records.

FCS Introduces 42 New Numbers in May

Complete strut assemblies, shock absorbers, shock absorber assembly kits and suspension struts for popular VIO applications are included.

NHTSA Issues New Standard for Automatic Emergency Braking

The rule makes AEB standard on all passenger cars and light trucks weighing up to 10,000 lbs. by September 2029.

MEYLE Expands Electronics, Sensor Product Portfolio

The focus is on assistance systems and engine and transmission management, with more than 300 new part numbers.