The Four Regional Finalists Have Been Announced for the 2010 School of the Year Contest -
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

School of the Year

The Four Regional Finalists Have Been Announced for the 2010 School of the Year Contest


Tomorrow’s TechnicianChicago Pneumatic and WIX Filters have named the four regional finalists for the 2010 School of the Year.


Selected from more than 300 applications nominating more than 163 schools, the four finalists areArapahoe Community College, Littleton, CO; Caddo Career and Technical Center, Shreveport, LA.; Spokane Community College, Spokane, WA; and Carroll County Career & Technology Center, Westminster, MD.

“We want to thank all of the students and teachers that took the time to submit nominations for School of the Year,” said Danielle Stevens, marketing communications manager for Chicago Pneumatic. “Picking four finalists from the list of 163 nominated schools was a grueling process; all of the high schools, colleges and career centers that entered should be proud of their accomplishments.

Applications from instructors, principals, department chairs, and students touted a variety of specialized training programs, too many awards to count and a true dedication to the field. These distinctive programs and specialized training opportunities provide students with defining skills as they enter the workforce following graduation.


“It’s really an honor to participate in this national contest that recognizes automotive technical schools and their instructors,” said Ed Sunkin, editor of Tomorrow’s Technician. “We feel that this program even helps us as a magazine, since we gain valuable information about the participating schools from their feedback and the profiles submitted by the Top 20 finalists.”

“As a 15-year veteran in the automotive aftermarket, it’s very inspiring to see what students are learning in today’s automotive technical schools and the hands-on training they are receiving that will make them ready for the workforce when they graduate,” said Sunkin.


The 2010 School of the Year will be chosen from the four finalists and will be featured in the May issue of Tomorrow’s Technician. Participating schools have the chance to win their share of $25,000 in tool prizes, with $10,000 in Chicago Pneumatic tools going to the school crowned as the 2010 School of the Year, and $5,000 to each of three regional finalists.

The prize package for the four finalists also includes $12,500 in WIX filters. The four regional finalists will have the opportunity to send select students to Charlotte, NC, to attend the WIX Institute of Filtration Technology and a behind-the-scenes tool demonstration and tour at Joe Gibbs Racing.


“This program gives us the ability to not only provide recognition to the best schools in the country, but to directly support students’ education,” said Jeff Blocher, brand manager for WIX Filters. “We look forward to meeting with the students of the winning schools; they provide us with inspiration through the integrity, determination and hard work they display in the classroom everyday.”

In addition to nationwide recognition, the winning institution will receive a special event at their school hosted by Chicago Pneumatic, Tomorrow’s Technician, and WIX Filters, with special guest Rich Evans, car fabricator, designer, painter and owner of Huntington Beach Bodyworks.

Click to comment
Tomorrows Technician