Tomorrow's Technician 2012 Automotive School of the Year Program Underway -
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


Tomorrow’s Technician 2012 Automotive School of the Year Program Underway

Annual program recognizes the top automotive schools in the nation.



Akron, OH  — Nominations for the Tomorrow’s Technician 2012 Automotive School of the Year program, sponsored by WIX Filters, are now being accepted online at

2011 winner Arapahoe Community College (ACC), in Littleton, CO.The registration deadline for this year’s program is Friday, August 31.

Top 20 School Announcement
In early September, the Top 20 Schools will be notified via e-mail that they have made the Top 20 list.

Similar to years past, these schools will be asked to answer five questions about their school and provide the judges with background information on their automotive program.

However, their answers, school background information and photos will no longer need to be assembled in a heavy binder. This year, the Top 20 schools can choose to supply their information in a video format. 


NEW for 2012 – Video Format
In order to answer the five questions and provide background info, the Top 20 schools will be asked to create a video of their school’s automotive program which they will send to Tomorrow’s Technician staff on a disc.

Videos should be no longer than 15 minutes and should highlight some of the students, the instructors and their certifications, classrooms, labs, tools and equipment, as well as any special project vehicles being worked on by automotive the class.

“We encourage the school as a whole to take ownership in this contest and award, and utilize its AV department or a media production class/department to help produce the video,” said Ed Sunkin, editor of Tomorrow’s Technician. “Involving other educational programs of the school with this School of the Year program will provide an extra boost of recognition for school administrators and their community.”


Videos submitted from the Top 20 schools will be hosted on the School of the Year website for all to view.

Schools that wish to opt out of the video diary and provide their content in a binder format can do so.

The Top 4 Schools, narrowed down from the videos, materials and binders supplied by the Top 20 schools, will be named in early October.

The winning school picked from the four finalist schools will be featured in an article in the November issue of Tomorrow’s Technician, as well as be awarded various prizes from WIX Filters.

"This is our fifth year of hosting this national program which was developed to recognize the top automotive technical colleges and schools dedicated to innovative training programs that prepare students for real-world careers," Sunkin said.


"We wish good luck to all the automotive programs that enter the Tomorrow’s Technician 2012 Automotive School of the Year, sponsored by WIX Filters."

Nominations can be made by school instructors, administrators, parents, students or representatives in the automotive industry.

For more information, contact Ed Sunkin at [email protected] or visit

Click to comment
Tomorrows Technician