Zurich Announces 2008 Scholarship Winners -
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel


Zurich Announces 2008 Scholarship Winners

Twenty aspiring aftermarket industry professionals receive a $1,000 scholarship donated by Zurich


Overland Park, Kan., June 9, 2008 – Zurich, one of the world’s largest property-casualty insurance companies, announced today that the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) will award 20 aspiring aftermarket industry professionals $1,000 scholarships from money donated by Zurich’s Direct Markets group, a leading provider of customized insurance products for aftermarket businesses in North America.


The GAAS scholarships are funded partially by a grant from Zurich’s High-Octane Scholarship Program that is designed to address the educational needs of students looking to enter automotive aftermarket fields. Zurich worked with the GAAS scholarship committee to identify 20 strong candidates with a desire to work in the following aftermarket industries:

•    Automotive service and repair
•    Automotive parts e.g., warehouse distributor, jobber or retailer
•    Tire including retail, retread, commercial and off-the-road
•    Automotive and heavy-duty parts remanufacturing

“These 20 scholarship recipients not only demonstrate a desire to work in specific industry segments, but they also meet the criteria Zurich identified based on input received from customers,” said Bob Tschippert, senior vice president for Zurich’s Direct Markets group.


“Zurich values the close relationships we have with customers, and we are committed to helping their industries grow and succeed.”

Zurich first contributed $10,000 to GAAS in October 2007. After recognizing the increasing need for qualified aftermarket industry professionals, Zurich contributed an additional $10,000 to the scholarship fund. Part of the contribution was funded by money Zurich had earmarked for the purchase and distribution of holiday cards to its aftermarket customers.

Tschippert said utilizing these funds for scholarships provides greater value to its customers.

“This donation is Zurich’s way of saying we understand the importance of training future generations of aftermarket industry professionals,” said Tschippert. “Working with GAAS creates the synergy we need to keep this industry moving forward.”


The following students were selected based on their academic history, financial need and future career goals. Zurich congratulates the following 2008 GAAS / Zurich scholarship winners:

Yuma, Ariz. Stephanie Sosa
Greeley, Colo. Jonathan White
Dale, Ind.  Erin Kern
Cumming, Ga.  Jack McCulloch
Franklin, Ga.  Dustin Jones
Lincolnton, Ga.  Jesse Williford
Cambridge, Mass.  Juvinal Furtado
Rockford, Mich.  Joseph Prestia
Carson City, Nev.  Cameron Knight
Las Vegas  Larry Shields
Collins, N.Y.  Jonathan Reding
Whiteville, Tenn.  Dakota Dillon
Redwater, Texas  Desmond Page
Bountiful, Utah  Christopher Woodhave
South Ogden, Utah  Jeffery Glaittli
Syracuse, Utah  Kari Griffiths
DeForest, Wis.  Lucas Eicher
Park Falls, Wis.   Cayle Damrow
Houlton, Maine Aaron Cyr  
El Campo, Texas  Beatrice Carrizales

Zurich contributed funds to the Symposium Scholarship Fund because all net proceeds from GAAS operations are used to fund scholarships for students pursuing automotive industry careers, including technical and management training programs.


Since the program began in 1996, more than 1,300 scholarships have been awarded. Information about eligibility requirements and an online application are available at http://www.automotivescholarships.com.

Click to comment
Tomorrows Technician