2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced -

2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded $150,000 to 58 individuals this year. The online application for next year's awards will be accepted November 1, 2015, through April 1, 2016.

SEMA-smallThe SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded $150,000 to 58 individuals this year. This includes 45 SEMA scholarships presented to current students, and 13 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies.

Recipients of these scholarships will be entering into the disciplines of Automotive Engineering & Technology, Automotive Aftermarket, Mechanical Engineering, Business Management, Electrical Engineering, Education, Industrial Engineering & Design, Automotive Machinist, Public Affairs/Administration, Graphic Design, Communications, and Computer & Information Sciences.

More than $2 million has been awarded to over 1,000 deserving students since the program’s establishment in 1984. The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund and the SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program are dedicated to fostering the next generation of automotive aftermarket industry leaders and innovators by helping them get off to a successful start in their education and automotive aftermarket career.

The online application for next year’s awards will be accepted November 1, 2015, through April 1, 2016 at www.sema.org/scholarships.

For questions or additional information, contact Juliet Marshall, SEMA education manager, at (909) 978-6655 or email [email protected].

2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

• Tyler Bagby, University of Central Missouri
• Steven Baltzell, Western Technical College (Jim A. Borre Award)
• Charles Becker III, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts Manufactures Council (MPMC) – Dan Borre Award)
• Jordan Belcher, Appalachian State University
• Matthew Bisbee, Lake Superior College (Top Student Award)
• Courtney Bisnee, Lake Superior College
• Skyler Brungardt, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
• Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth
• Erik Cahill, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo (Hot Rod Industry Alliance (HRIA) – John Menzler Memorial Award)
• Cody Casale, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
• Trevor Chaney, University of Northwestern Ohio
• Brain Choe, University of Washington-Seattle Campus
• Joel Cosby, Western Governors University
• Elijah DeWitt, Iowa Central Community College
• Nicholas D’Orazio, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
• Austin Ellis, Colorado School of Mines
• Elizabeth Ellis, Texas A&M University
• Almon Evans, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
• Logan Farmer, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
• Lael Gobble, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
• Austin Hiebert, McPherson College (Automotive Restoration Market Organization (ARMO) – Jeff Moses Award)
• Cynthia Jones, Tyler Junior College
• Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology (Thurston Warn Award)
• Carl Klamn, Western Governors University (Louis L. Borick Award)
• Daniel Konzelman, Northwest University (Manufacturer’s Representative Network (MRN) Award)
• Bryan Kuhn, Walsh University (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
• Anna Layer, Western Michigan University
• Kevin Letterman, Stanford University (Louis L. Borick Award)
• Lillian Macaruso, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
• Alison Queener, Kettering University
• Garrett Rider, University of Missouri-Columbia, (Wheel & Tire Council (WTC) – Michael Kunzman Award)
• Bobby Robertson Jr., McPherson College
• Robert Rose, University of Northwestern Ohio (Dick Dixon Award)
• Michael Shinkarenko, Spokane Community College (Steve Woomer Award)
• Kaylynn Simmons, University of Northwestern Ohio (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network (SBN) Award)
• Allen-Michael Skowron, Kettering University
• Sarah Spoto, University of Rochester
• James Stray, School of Automotive Machinists
• Patrick Stroupe, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
• Ryan Talaga, Northwood University (Nat Danas Award)
• Stephen Toth Jr., Ohio University (Harlan Felder Award)
• Byron Walker, University of Northwestern Ohio
• Travis Walters, University of Northwest Ohio
• Thomas Wee, Rosedale Technical Institute (Joseph B. Amato, Sr. Award)
• Christopher Zendejas, California State University Northridge (K&N Engineering Award)

2015 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners
• Robert Baldwin, Motor State Distributing (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
• Benjamin Bosworth, Pratt & Miller Engineering
• Eric Burnett, Holley Performance Products
• Andrew Clutter, A.R.E. Accessories, LLC (Light Truck Accessory Alliance (LTAA) Award)
• Calen Cussimanio, Nissan North America
• Collin Gentry, Meyer Distributing
• Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing/Lane Automotive (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
• Gregory Masterson, Smart Inc. / Chemical Guys (Professional Restylers Organization (PRO) Award)
• Bryan Newman, Coker Tire (Young Executives Network (YEN) Award)
• Steven Reini, Pratt & Miller Engineering
• Michael Robins, Ford Racing/Ford Performance
• Jessica Smith-Tarry, Summit Racing Equipment
• Jordan Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang, Inc. (Walley Parks Award)


You May Also Like

Cummins, Daimler Truck and PACCAR Form Joint Venture

The completed joint venture is now known as Amplify Cell Technologies.

Accelera by Cummins, Daimler Trucks & Buses and PACCAR completed the formation of their joint venture, now known as Amplify Cell Technologies. Along with advancing zero-emissions technology for electric commercial vehicles and industrial applications, the collaboration will localize battery cell production and the battery supply chain in the United States, according to the companies.

Guess The Car Stirs Up Some Conflict

To win, you need to enter the contest and be randomly selected. Don’t miss your chance at the next amazing set of prizes.

What to Expect at AAPEX 2024

The 2024 AAPEX Show will take place November 5-7 in Las Vegas.

Do Technicians Need Tips?

Asking for a tip would not go over well with your future customers.

Guess The Tool Doesn’t Stump Players This Week

Discover the lucky winners of our latest contest and get a chance to test your skills with our engaging puzzles.

Other Posts
UTI Announces ‘Summer Ignite’ Program

The free, three-week program serves as a gateway for students to learn more about automotive or motorcycle repair careers.

Schaeffler Recognized as a GM 2023 Top Global Supplier

This is the fourth time Schaeffler has been honored with this award.

Perfect Stop Powersports Promotion Kicks Off The Summer

Six grand-prize winners will choose a powersports vehicle of their choice – worth up to $15,000.

Schaeffler, ATSG Partner to Support Technical Education

Schaeffler will provide ATSG members with ongoing education and technical resources.