Daytona Instructor Wins 2011 WyoTech Dream Maker Award -

Daytona Instructor Wins 2011 WyoTech Dream Maker Award

Award recognizes excellence in teaching, dedication to students’ career goals

Ormond Beach, FL Oscar Tucker, an instructor in the Motorcycle Technology program at WyoTech-Daytona, leads by example after graduating from WyoTech himself.  Tucker has the desire to turn his students into motorcycle professionals, not just mechanics, and that is what earned him the 2011 WyoTech Dream Maker Award.

The Dream Maker Award, presented by WyoTech’s parent company, Corinthian Colleges Inc., recognizes instructors who go above and beyond to deliver the best education in the classroom, get students involved on campus and in the community, and help students get on the right path to achieve career goals.

“Oscar Tucker engages his students using a variety of techniques,” said Jorge Gutierrez, president of WyoTech-Daytona.  “A mixture of demonstration and hands-on learning brings the subject matter to life and keeps his students intrigued in the curriculum.”

In addition to being an outstanding instructor, Tucker, also graduated from WyoTech-Daytona in 2008. During his time as a student he was recognized as an Eagle Tech, nominated for the National Technical Honor Society, and was recognized as his graduating class’ Outstanding Student. The experience as a student is one of the things that makes him so effective in the classroom.

One of Tucker’s students said, “If you need help, he goes beyond lengths to help you, whether it’s staying late or coming in early.”

Tucker is a member of the American Motorcycle Association and received DynoJet Dynamometer and Power Commander training.  His dedication extends beyond the classroom to community service efforts such as helping with homeless awareness programs.  According to students and faculty, Tucker is one of the most beloved instructors on campus.

You May Also Like

AAPEX Accepting Student Program Applications

AAPEX is offering two options for students to attend this year’s event.

AAPEX is dedicated to bringing the best talent to the automotive aftermarket industry, and as part of this initiative, is offering two options for students to attend this year’s event, as well as an opportunity for aftermarket companies to get involved in the program. 

The first option is the Student Sponsorship Program that invites students to apply to attend AAPEX for first-hand industry experience and networking opportunities. Students selected for participation will receive two days of learning, including access to all AAPEX training and general education sessions, as well as hosted functions. Participants will receive complimentary AAPEX registration, reception tickets, a three-night hotel stay in Las Vegas, and a food and transportation stipend. To apply, visit the Student Sponsorship Program. Applications are due by Thursday, Aug. 24. 

ASE Education Foundation Congratulates SkillsUSA Winners

Students from ASE-accredited programs were among the winners at the SkillsUSA competition last month in Atlanta, Georgia.

Mitchell 1 Names 2023 Educator of the Year

Ryan Washington, instructor at Community College of Baltimore County in Hunt Valley, Maryland, earned this distinction.

Standard Motor Products Continues Growth of VVT Program

Recently released Standard variable valve timing (VVT) sprockets are now available for another 8.8 million vehicles.

Hunter Engineering Partners with Lincoln Tech

New collaboration offers training for local techs and student career opportunities, including ADAS.

Other Posts

Celebrate Summer with Federated Facebook Contest

Federated will announce four lucky winners of a $50 gift card on each Friday in July and one grand prize winner of a $500 gift card on Aug. 4.

ASCEF Awards Scholarships to 28 Aspiring Automotive Students

The board of trustees awarded 34 scholarships to 28 students for a total of $18,000.

SMP Releases 156 New Part Numbers in June

This latest release provides new coverage in 61 different product categories.

ASE to Sponsor U.S. Auto Tech National Championship

The qualifying round ends on July 31, 2023.