I-CAR Education Foundation Announces 2010 Scholarship Winners -

I-CAR Education Foundation Announces 2010 Scholarship Winners

The awards are part of more than $150,000 in grants and scholarships to be given out in 2010 by the I-CAR Education Foundation.

HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL –  The I-CAR Education Foundation is proud to announce the recipients of the scholarships in collision repair that were created to assist deserving students pursuing a career in the collision industry.

These awards are part of more than $150,000 in grants and scholarships to be given out in 2010 by the I-CAR Education Foundation.

One of the scholarships, the I-CAR Education Foundation Scholarship, is in its third year and funded by the entire collision industry through the Collision Repair Education Campaign.

The second scholarship, The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship, is in its second year and was created to honor Lon Baudoux, I-CAR Development Manager, who passed away in November 2008.

This scholarship is funded mainly by I-CAR staff and I-CAR instructors who worked with Lon at I-CAR.

The third scholarship, the I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship, is funded by the current members of the Board of Trustees.

The fourth scholarship is the AutocheX scholarship.

The scholarship winners are:
I-CAR Education Foundation Scholarship
• $5,000 Award Recipient (Secondary): Blake Grover, Dennis Technical Education Center (Boise, ID)
• $5,000 Award Recipient (Post-Secondary): Benjamin Zumwalt, Herndon Career Center (Raytown, MO)
• $2,000 Award Recipients (Secondary): Nicholas Perez, Saginaw Career Complex (Saginaw, MI); Brandon Sweet, Calhoun Area Career Center (Battle Creek, MI); Matthew Scheible, Potter Career & Tech Center (West Seneca, NY); and Cordney Williams, Saginaw Career Complex (Saginaw, MI)
• $2,000 Award Recipients (Post-Secondary): Josh Musgrave, Northwest Kansas Technical College (Goodland, KS) and Ryan Kelley, Fox Valley Technical College (Appleton, WI)

Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship ($1,000 award)
Jessica Dancer, Southeast Career and Technical Academy (Las Vegas, NV)

I-CAR Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship ($2,000 award)
Michael Favazza, Automotive Training Center (Warminster, PA)

AutocheX Scholarship ($2,000 award)
Brian Chandler, Greenville Technical College (Greenville, SC)

“Congratulations to the 2010 scholarship recipients – they are an impressive and inspiring group of people who are well on their way to being successful within our industry,” said Scott Kruger, I-CAR Education Foundation Executive Director.

“All of us at the I-CAR Education Foundation were pleased to be able to offer a number of new scholarship opportunities for young men and women seeking to turn their skills, dedication, and passion for cars into a rewarding career.”

A selection committee comprised of members of the Education Foundation Board of Trustees Grant Programs Task Force, made the final selection of scholarship recipients. Committee members included: Geralynn Kottschade, Jerry’s Body Shop, Inc. (Committee Chair); Terry Angell, Warren Tech; Mary Knapp, Dennis Technical Education Center; John Saia, Toyota Motor Sales USA, Inc; Greg Settle, Mercedes-Benz, LLC; and John Ward, Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

You May Also Like

AAPEX Accepting Student Program Applications

AAPEX is offering two options for students to attend this year’s event.

AAPEX is dedicated to bringing the best talent to the automotive aftermarket industry, and as part of this initiative, is offering two options for students to attend this year’s event, as well as an opportunity for aftermarket companies to get involved in the program. 

The first option is the Student Sponsorship Program that invites students to apply to attend AAPEX for first-hand industry experience and networking opportunities. Students selected for participation will receive two days of learning, including access to all AAPEX training and general education sessions, as well as hosted functions. Participants will receive complimentary AAPEX registration, reception tickets, a three-night hotel stay in Las Vegas, and a food and transportation stipend. To apply, visit the Student Sponsorship Program. Applications are due by Thursday, Aug. 24. 

ASE Education Foundation Congratulates SkillsUSA Winners

Students from ASE-accredited programs were among the winners at the SkillsUSA competition last month in Atlanta, Georgia.

Mitchell 1 Names 2023 Educator of the Year

Ryan Washington, instructor at Community College of Baltimore County in Hunt Valley, Maryland, earned this distinction.

Standard Motor Products Continues Growth of VVT Program

Recently released Standard variable valve timing (VVT) sprockets are now available for another 8.8 million vehicles.

Hunter Engineering Partners with Lincoln Tech

New collaboration offers training for local techs and student career opportunities, including ADAS.

Other Posts

Celebrate Summer with Federated Facebook Contest

Federated will announce four lucky winners of a $50 gift card on each Friday in July and one grand prize winner of a $500 gift card on Aug. 4.

ASCEF Awards Scholarships to 28 Aspiring Automotive Students

The board of trustees awarded 34 scholarships to 28 students for a total of $18,000.

SMP Releases 156 New Part Numbers in June

This latest release provides new coverage in 61 different product categories.

ASE to Sponsor U.S. Auto Tech National Championship

The qualifying round ends on July 31, 2023.